Betway Cup 2020: Gor Mahia, AFC Leopards through to Last 16

Naivas 2 Gor Mahia 3

Kenyan Premier League (KPL) champions Gor Mahia rallied from behind twice to overcome Naivas 3-3 in a Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Cup at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani in Nairobi on Sunday, February 16th.

Boniface Omondi scored the winner deep in the second half to send Gor through to frustrate FKF Division One side Naivas FC who led twice and seemed to be on course to pulling an upset.

Gor was caught pants down in the 10th minute through a goal scored by Kingsley Owuor from the spot who coolly slotted home past Gor’s custodian Fredrick Onyango.

Dickson Ambundo equalized for Kogallo with a shot that found the top corner in the 39th minute.

A minute later goalkeeper Fredrick Onyango miscalculated to gift Rashid Hassan with Naivas’s second goal.

Lawrence Juma brought Kogallo back on level terms as he dribbled his way past the Naivas defenders before sending a low drive that beat the goalkeeper leveler.

In the 89th minute, Bonface Omondi capitalized on a defensive lapse and caught the keeper off guard to score the winning goal to send the supermarket attendants packing.

Elim 0 AFC Leopards 1

A lone goal netted by mid-season signing Elvis Rupiah was enough to send AFC leopards into the next round of the FKF Betway Cup at Kenyatta Stadium in Kitale.

KSG Ogopa 0 Bandari 2

Defending champions Bandari stayed in contention of retaining the FKF Betway Cup by eliminating KSG Ogopa 0-2 away at the Kenyatta Stadium.

Second-half goals netted by Yema Mwama in the 65th  minute and an 85th-minute penalty converted by William Wadri were enough for Bandari’s win


Kenpoly 0 v Kariobangi Sharks 2

The 2018 FKF Cup champions Kariobangi Sharks posted a comfortable 0-2 win over Kenpoly in the FKF Cup tournament at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani.

First-half goals scored by Patrick Ngunyi in the13th minute and Derrick Onyango to see off  Ken Poly in the FKF Betway Cup.

Round of 32 Results

  • Jericho Revelation 1-2 Bidco United
  • Tandaza 1 (4) – (5) 1 Posta Rangers
  • Balaji EPZ 0 (4) – (5) 0 Sofapaka
  • Zetech Titans 2 (5) – (6) 2 FC Talanta
  • SS Assad 1(0) – (3) 1 Fortune Sacco
  • Nyabururu Sportiff 0 (3)-(4) 0 Kisumu Allstars
  • Egerton 0-1 Wazito
  • Flamingo 0-1 Migori Youth
  • Transfoc (3) 0-0 (5) Ushuru
  • KSG Ogopa 0-2 Bandari
  • Naivas 2-3 Gor Mahia
  • Kenpoly 0-2 Kariobangi Sharks
  • *Keroka Technical 2-0 Vihiga United
  • Zoo Youth 1(3)-1(4) KCB
  • Elim 0-1 AFC Leopards
  • Luanda Villa 1(8)-1(9) Ulinzi Stars