Your Say: Makadara Constituency

Makadara constituency has a record of producing parliamentarians who graduated into being high profile personalities in Kenya.

They include former president Mwai Kibaki, current Nairobi City Governor and former Senator Mike Sonko, and the Nairobi County Speaker Bernard Mutura.

Since the 1992 general elections, no Member of Parliament (MP) has ever won more than one term.

Fred Omido is the MP who has served longest by serving for three terms whereas Kibaki represented the constituency twice before shifting his political base to the Othaya constituency in Nyeri.

As the 2022 campaigns gain momentum, already there are some candidates who are being linked with seeking to lead the constituency.

George Aladwa- is the incumbent MP and former Nairobi Mayor who represented Makongeni ward unseated Benson Mutura in the 2017 elections on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) ticket.

Benson Mutura- is the Nairobi County Speaker who once served Makadara constituency for one term between 2013-2017 and is expected to fight on a Jubilee Party ticket.

Reuben Ndolo- is a former Makadara MP who served in 2002-2007 after being elected on a NARC ticket and the president of the Kenya Professional Boxing Commission (KPBC). He once served as the Athi Water Services Board chairman.

Anthony โ€˜Jamalโ€™ Ombok- is a close ally of Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko who is the chairman of Rivers of God (RoG) matatu Sacco and serves as the president of the Amateur Boxing Association of Kenya (BAK).

Intouch Polls Kenya is conducting a poll survey to determine who is best suited to win the Makadara constituency.

Vote below by clicking on the name of your preferred candidate