Embakasi East MP Babu Owino Lands ODM National Post

Embakasi East MP Babu Owino Lands ODM National Post

Embakasi East Member of Parliament (MP) Babu Owino has landed a party position in the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) after missing out on plum parliamentary committee slots.

The Raila Odinga-led party has effected changes which has made Mr

Owino has been appointed as the ODM Secretary in charge Science and Technology, replacing the party’s 2017 Starehe parliamentary aspirant Steve Mbogo in what appears to be consoling the outspoken lawmaker.

Owino had bitterly complained over what he saw as plans to bypass him in the Parliamentary Accounts Committee chairmanship.

Kwale Woman MP Zulekha Juma Hassan has also replaced Kilifi North MP Owen Baya as the Party Deputy Secretary General after the former defected to the ruling United Democratic Alliance Party (UDA)  and is currently the Deputy Majority Leader in the National Assembly.

Kilifi South MP Ken Chonga has replaced the late Msambweni MP Suleiman Dori as the Deputy Party Organising Secretary General with the position remaining vacant since the legislator died in March 2020 following a sudden illness.

At the same time, Wajir North MP Ahmed Abdisalan Ibrahim has replaced Abdikadir Mohammed as ODM National Organising Secretary while Stella Chepkirui has replaced Bomet politician Ronald Ngeny as Secretary for Environment.

“Any person with written submissions concerning the intended changes by the political party shall within seven days from the date of this publication make their written submissions to the Registrar of Political Parties,” said the Registrar of Political Parties Ann Nderitu in a notice.