Gachagua to Deal With Raila Threat as President Ruto Heads to Europe

Gachagua to Deal With Raila Threat as President Ruto Heads to Europe

A day to the second phase of the opposition planned mass action, President William Ruto will leave the country today, Sunday, March 26, 2023 for a four-day visit to Europe.

According to a statement by State House Spokesperson Hussein Mohamed on Sunday morning, the president will visit two European nations, Germany and Belgium. President Ruto will hold bilateral talks with German leaders, and also give a keynote speech.

“President William Ruto will depart the country today, Sunday 26th March 2023 for a four-day visit to the Federal Republic of Germany and the Kingdom of Belgium, respectively,” Hussein’s statement reads in part.

Kenya’s opposition leader Raila Odinga vowed Tuesday (Mar. 27th) continue with a campaign of nationwide protests.

“We reiterate to our supporters and all patriotic Kenyans that this struggle is just starting. We are not looking back; we will not be intimidated. No retreat, no surrender,” he exlciamed.

Hussein tweeted that the president’s trip will focus on ‘renewable energy, green industrialization, and trade.

Hussin says the President will hold talks aimed at strengthening bilateral relations with President Frank-Walter Steinmeier and German Chancellor Olaf Scholz.

“The president will also give a keynote address at the Berlin Energy Transition Dialogue, outlining the challenges of energy security amidst the worsening climate crisis and the push for investments in renewable energy,” he adds.

Kenya will also explore partnerships with Germany on the youth agenda, specifically in vocational education and training.

In Brussels, the capital of Belgium, Ruto is expected to have a meeting with Alexander De Croo, Prime Minister of Belgium.

The meeting’s main objective is to discuss mutual areas of interest including, health, addressing Kenya’s food security and drought response, climate action, trade, and investment.

The President will also engage with the leadership of the European Union, including, H.E. Charles Michel, President of the European Union Council, and H.E. Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission.