Harambee Starlets coach names provisional squad for Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers


The National Women’s National Team, Harambee Starlets head coach Charles Okere has named a provisional 31 players that will take part in the Africa Cup of Nations(AWCON) qualifiers.

Okere who succeeded David Ouma in April this year will be looking forward to replicate the latter’s performance in the continental show-piece. The team is expected to enter residential camp on Saturday 9, October at the La Mada Hotel.

The first leg of the qualifiers will be played on October 20, 2021 and the second leg will be played three days later.

The return of Ulinzi Starlets striker Neddy Atieno will be an exciting addition for Okere considering her top current form.

If Starlets beat South Sudan in the first round, they will meet either Ethiopia or Uganda in the second round of the qualifiers where the winner from this round will pocket earn a place in the AWCON finals that is set for Morocco.

Starlets are seeking to make a return in the continental competition following the 2016 event that was played in Cameroon whey lost all the group stage matches failing to go past the group stage.

The 2022 AWCON finals will act as the qualifiers of the Women’s World Cup and also as the World Cup where the semi finalists will earn an automatic qualification to the global showpiece.


Provisional Squad


Annete Kundu (Unattached),Pauline Katharu (Kibera Girls Soccer FC), Lilian Awour  (Vihiga Queens FC),Maureen Shimuli (Ulinzi Starlets FC)


Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens FC), Juliet Andipo (Kayole Starlet FC), Dorcas Shikobe (Lakatamia FC), Lucy Akoth (Mathare United Women FC), Dorcas Neema (Nakuru Queens FC), Phoebe Awiti, Enez Mango(Vihiga Queens FC), Nelly Sawe (Thika Queens FC), Ruth Ingotsi (Unattached)


Sheril Angach ,Corazone Aquino (Gaspo Women), Mercy Oginga (Vihiga Queens FC),Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens FC), Lilian Mmboga, Lorna Nyarinda (Kibera Girls Soccer FC), Martha Amunyolet (Trans Nzoia Falcons FC), Maureen Ater (Vihiga Queens FC), Merceline Wayodi (Kisumu All Starlets FC)


Terry Engesha, Jentrix Shikangwa, Violet Wanyonyi, Janet Bundi (Vihiga Queens), Rachael Mwema (Thika Queens), Lucy Mukhwana ,Neddy Akoth (Ulinzi Starlets), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Women FC)