“Jubilee MPs are Now Kenya Kwanza Members,” President Ruto States

“Jubilee MPs are Now Kenya Kwanza Members,” President Ruto States

President William Ruto has stated that Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya coaltion wing Jubilee Party are members of the ruling Kenya Kwanza.

The president made the statement when he hosted 30 MPs from the former ruling party Jubilee on Wednesday, February 8, 2023 in State House, Nairobi.

Lawmakers allied to former Head of State Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party met with his rival President William Ruto and Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua at State House on Wednesday, the second meeting in a month, as the Kenya Kwanza administration seeks to woo them to work with the government.

“You have a right to make choices as Kenya is a democratic country. You are now our members and we will treat you as such,” President Ruto told the Jubilee MPs.

The Head of State said he’s now banking on the MPs to help him push his agenda in the National Assembly and the Senate.

“We will be seeking your support on Bills and regulations on the Housing Fund, Water Purchasing Agreements, among others,” said Ruto.

Jubilee leaders who met the duo were led by Azimio Senate Deputy Minority Leader Fatuma Dullo, nominated MP Sabina Chege, MPs David Kiaraho (Ol Kalou), Irene Njoki (Bahati), Zachary Kwenya (Kinangop), Shadrack Mwiti (South Imenti), Mark Mwenje (Embakasi West), Amos Mwago (Starehe), Dan Karitho (Igembe Central), Stanley Muthama (Lamu West) and Joseph Githuku (Lamu), Omar Shurie (Balambala), Adan Keynan (Eldas) and John Waluke (Sirisia).

According to a brief statement released by State House afterwards, the MPs had pledged to work with the government to advance its development agenda.

The lawmakers said that after being away from Ruto’s political camp for a while, they are now “back home”.