Leopards Raid KCB to Move 5th as Tusker Intoxicates Rangers

Leopards Raid KCB to Move 5th as Tusker Intoxicates Rangers

Twelve times champions AFC Leopards beat Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) moved to fifth place in the Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKF PL) as Tusker made it two wins in a row on Sunday, February 26, 2023.

KCB 0 AFC Leopards 1

AFC Leopards pipped Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) 1-0 at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani in Nairobi.

The all important goal was netted by Jafari Owiti a minute into the second half to earn leopards three points.

The goal was scored after Victor Omune dashed down the left side of the attack before squaring the ball back into the box for Owiti to tap in for decisive goal.

KCB Starting XI: Bryne Omondi, Kevin Okumu, Hannif Wesonga, Maurice Ojwang, Harun Mwale, Brian Ochieng, Michael Mutinda, Kennedy Owino, Nicholas Kipkirui, Henry Onyango, James Mazembe

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Bixente Otieno, Samuel Mwangi, Francis Kahiro, Nashon Alembi, Bramwel Chemweno, Nashon Wekesa, Hillary Dukusy, Danson Namasaka, Derrick Otieno John Mwangi, Mohammed Kilume

AFC Leopards starting XI: Levis Opiyo, Boniface Mukhekhe, Kayci Odhiambo, Tedian Esilaba, Lewis Bandi, Musa Oundo, Brian Wanyama, Jaffari Owiti, Cliff Nyakeya, Victor Omune, Ojo Olaniyi

Subs: Maxwell Muchesia, Peter Thiong’o, Washington Munene, Collins Shivachi, Giovanni Lukhumwa, Saad Musa, Eugene Mukangula, Maxwell Otieno


Tusker 1 Posta Rangers 0

Posta Rangers suffered their sixth loss of the season after losing 1-0 to the reigning champions Tusker.

Shami Mwinyi’s goal scored from a free kick is all that the beer makers needed to gain maximum points.

The freekick was awarded after Eric Mmata was fouled just outside the box, paving way for Shami to score with his first shot of the game in the 4th minute.

Following the win, Tusker jump into fourth position with 31 points from 16 matches.

Posta Rangers on the other hand remain in 12th with only four wins at the half-way point of the season.


Tusker FC

Starting XI: Patrick Matasi, Kevin Monyi, Jimmy Mbugua, Tom Teka, Charles Momanyi, David Odoyo, Collins Otieno, Eric Mmata, Deogratious Ojok, Shaphan Siwa, Shami Mwinyi.

Substitutes: Micahel Wanjala, Brian Bwire, Karlos Kirenge, Humphrey Mieno, Daniel Sakari, John Njuguna, Stewart Omondi, Eric Zakayo, Eric Otieno.

Posta Rangers

Starting XI: Kelvin Opiyo, Kennedy Ochieng, Michael Apudo, Bernard Ondiek, Kennedy Odhiambo, Brian Musa, Brian Otieno, Sammy Odero, Michael Owino, Vincent Wasambo, Brian Marita.

Substitutes: Brandon Obiero, Dinken Mwema, Elvis Ochieng, Simon Omondi, Patrick Otieno, Chrispinus Onyango, Eluid Lokuwam, Jackson Dwang, Lewis Shivachi.