President Kenyatta Reshuffles Cabinet, Reassigns Principle Secretaries

President Kenyatta Reshuffles Cabinet, Reassigns Principle Secretaries

President Uhuru Kenyatta has made a reshuffle of his Cabinet 10 months into the forthcoming 2022 Kenya’s general elections.

In the changes announced on Wednesday, September 29, 2021, Ministry of Defence Cabinet Secretary (CS) Ambasadeur  Monica Juma has been moved to Energy.

Former Kericho Senator Charles Keter has been shifted from the Energy ministry to Devolution while Eugene Wamalwa takes over  Defence from Devolution.

In the new changes, the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection has been reconstituted and renamed the Ministry of Labour.

The Arid and Semi Arid Lands (ASAL) and Special Programmes departments under the ministry of Devolution have been moved to newly reconstituted Ministry of Public Service, Gender, Senior Citizens Affairs & Special Programmes headed by CS Margaret Kobia.

The Ministry of Devolution and ASAL has also been reconstituted and renamed as the Ministry of Devolution.

Four Principal Secretaries (PSs) have also been reassigned in the surprise reshuffle.

Major General (retired) Gordon Kihalangwa has been transferred from State Department for Public Works to State Department for Energy.

Joseph K. Njoroge have been transferred the State Department for Energy to Public Works.

Solomon Kitungu has been reassigned to the State Department for Transport and Nelson Marwa Sospeter to the State Department for Senior Citizens Affairs & Special Programmes.