President Ruto, Cabinet Secretaries Lead Kenyans in Planting Trees Countrywide

President Ruto, Cabinet Secretaries Lead Kenyans in Planting Trees Countrywide

Share on Socials

President William Ruto and members of his Cabinet led Kenyans in various parts of the country to mark ‘Green Holiday’ a special day set aside for planting trees on Monday, November 13, 2023, .

The Ministry of Interior and National Administration gazetted the holiday last week to allow Kenyans to plant at least 100 million trees as part of the government’s ambitious plan to plant 15 billion trees in 10 years.

President Ruto, his deputy Rigathi Gachagua and their spouses presided over the exercise at Ikua Wetland in Makueni County.

Members of Ruto’s Cabinet also presided over the tree-planting initiative in various counties across the country.

Soipan Tuya, the Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change, and Forestry, was in Vihiga County where she encouraged residents to support the the government’s initiative.

Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi took the clarion call to Tharaka Nithi and Kirinyaga counties while Interior CS Kithure Kindiki presided over the exercise in Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Turkana and Marsabit counties.

Agriculture CS Mithika Linturi was in Makueni and Samburu counties while Cabinet Secretary for Water, Sanitation, and Irrigation Zacharia Njeru oversaw a similar drive in Kajiado and Kiambu counties

Others are National Treasury CS Njuguna Ndung’u (Nyandarua and Laikipia counties), Defence CS Aden Duale (Nakuru and Isiolo), Gender, Culture, the Arts and Heritage CS Aisha Jumwa (Kakamega and Kwale), Mining, Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs CS Salim Mvurya (Tana River and Lamu counties), Tourism and Wildlife CS Alfred Mutua (Kitui and Taita counties) and Lands CS Alice Wahome (Laikipia and Nyeri counties).

Cabinet Secretary for Public Service, Performance, and Delivery Management Moses Kuria (Kisumu and Siaya counties), Education CS Ezekiel Machogu (Migori and Trans Nzoia), ICT CS Eliud Owalo (Nandi and Kisii), Labour CS Florence Bore (Nyamira and Bomet), Transport CS Kipchumba Murkomen (Homabay and Mombasa), Health CS Susan Nakhumicha (Elgeyo Marakwet and West Pokot), Cooperatives and Micro and Small Enterprise CS Simon Chelugui (Uasin Gishu and Murang’a), Trade CS Rebecca Miano (Embu and Narok) and Energy CS Davis Chirchir (Baringo and Kericho counties).

Peninah Malonza, the Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of East African Community, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands, and Regional Development, was in Busia and Meru counties while Mercy Wanjau (Secretary to the Cabinet) and Felix Koskei (Head of Public Service and the President’s Chief of Staff) were in Nairobi.

Share on Socials