The United Democratic Alliances (UDA) Party’s nominations will be free, fair and transparent: DP Ruto

The United Democratic Alliances (UDA) Party’s nominations will be free, fair and transparent: DP Ruto

Deputy President William Ruto has stressed that the credibility of UDA nominations process is not a favour but a right from the party.

He said it was time political aspirants had the democratic space and right to participate in nominations in a fair manner.

“The make or break in a party is in the fairness and democracy of nominations,” said Dr Ruto.

He said the UDA nominations will not be about friends as has been the norm with other political outfits in the country.

“You will not need to know the party’s secretary general, or any other official.”

In what signals his seriousness in the process, the Deputy President said he will not delegate the party nominations to anyone.

He noted that he will supervise it and be accountable to every aspirant.

“This is an undertaking I give to every aspirant: Those who win will win fairly; those who lose will lose fairly,” he explained.

Dr Ruto was speaking today at his Karen Residence when he met aspirants from Narok, Kajiado and Nakuru Counties.

He told the forum that he had chosen to form a national party so that “we can do away with ethnicity and boost national unity”.

However, he said he had no issue with those who want to form tribal parties.

“We have not told anyone to fold tribal or regional political parties. What we have decided is to deliberately form UDA as a national party,” he argued.

Dr Ruto said it is only a united national party that has the capacity to push a national development agenda.

He said the plot to destroy the Jubilee Party so that the country is taken back to tribal parties had failed.

He observed that the Hustler Movement has become bigger than the Jubilee Party, boasting of 154 MPs that are affiliated to it.

UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina assured aspirants that the party will deliver credible nominations.

“UDA will turn the page on how political parties conduct elections,” she said.

MPs present during the meeting included David Ole Sankok, Kimani Ngunjiri, Irungu Kang’ata, Johana Ng’eno, Gabriel Tongoyo, Korei Ole Lemein, Janet Teyiaa, Soipan Tuya, Gideon Keter, Susan Kihika, Liza Chelule, Jayne Kihara, Benjamin Mwangi, Katoo Ole Metito and Charity Chepkwony.